Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Embassy Holidays
 

The American Embassy in Damascus will observe the following American and Syrian holidays in 2011.

Country Date Holiday
US January 01, Friday * New Year's Day
US January 16, Sunday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
SAR**  February 15, Tuesday Prophet's Birthay (Mawlid An-Nbi)
US  February 20, Sunday Presidents' Day
SAR  March 21, Monday Mother's Day
SAR April 17, Sunday Evacuation Day
SAR April 24, Sunday Easter Day 
US May 29, Sunday Memorial Day
US July 4, Monday Independence Day
SAR**  Aug. 30-Sept. 1, Tues-Thurs Al-Fitr Holiday (End of Ramadan)
US September 04, Sunday Labor Day
US October 09, Sunday Columbus Day
SAR**  November 6-8, Sun-Tues Al-Adha Holiday
US November 10, Thursday Veterans Day
US November 24, Thursday Thanksgiving Day
US December 25, Sunday Christmas Holiday
 
 NOTES: 

  1. Whenever a U.S. holiday falls on Friday or Saturday, the preceding Thursday or the following Sunday respectively shall be considered the holiday.
  2. SAR Holidays shall be verified with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs before occurrence.  A Management Notice confirming each holiday will be issued as required.  Syrian holidays will be observed by the Embassy only on the day they are observed by the Syrian government.

** Based on Lunar Calendar.  The exact date will be confirmed by the religious authorities at a later date and may be subject to change.